Minutes of the March 21, 2005 Business Meeting Central States Section - The Combustion Institute

- **1. Time and Location:** The meeting was held from approximately 5:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. at the Stratton Building on the campus of Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA.
- 2. Opening: Dennis Stocker welcomed members to Philadelphia
- 3. Treasurer's Report: Margaret Wooldridge briefly outlined the Section's financial status. She noted that the section had an approximate cash inflow of \$32,000 including a \$1,000 donation from Rolls-Royce, an outflow of \$24,000. Wooldridge concluded by pointing to the financial success of the Austin meeting and pointing out that the Section is healthily in the black.
- **4. Election of Officers:** Dennis Stocker stated that the Board nominates Clark Midkiff as Chairperson-Elect, Tom Briggs as Treasurer, and Robert Hancock as Secretary. Stocker solicited nominations from the floor. Seeing no further nominations, Stocker stated that the Board's nominees are elected.
- 5. Outstanding Student Presenter from the Austin Meeting: Observing that the award is based on all-around quality of paper and presentation, Indrek Wichman announced that Tershia Pinder, a student of Arvind Atreya of the University of Michigan, is the winner of the Outstanding Student Presenter Award for the 2004 Austin CSSCI Spring Meeting for a paper entitled "An Experimental Investigation of the Effect of Fuel Concentration and Velocity Fluctuations on Non-Premixed Jet Flames."
- **6. J. E. Peters Fellowship and Symposium Travel Awards:** LD Chen announced that Chad Rasmussen, a student of James Driscoll at the University of Michigan, was selected as the James E. Peters Fellow, which provides \$1,000 for Symposium expenses. Five additional Symposium Travel Awards of \$500 were made to other graduate students in the Section.
- 7. CSSCI Combustion Art Awards: Dennis Stocker thanked Nick Glumac for his hard work in conducting and organizing the judging of the Art Competition. Stocker announced the winners of the competition as follows: First Place—Viswanath R. Katta, Terry R. Mayer, James R. Gord and William M. Roquemore, Wright Patterson Air Force Base; Second Place—Chuck Baukal, John Zink Company; and Third Place—Jason L. Taylor, National Center for Microgravity Research, and Richard L. Axelbaum, Washington University.
- 8. By-Laws Revision: Dennis Stocker detailed by PowerPoint the proposed changes in the Section by-laws. The question of the definition of the term "mental disability" was raised by Norm Laurendeau, which resulted in the suggestion to preface the term in question with the phrase "medically diagnosed." A motion for acceptance of the proposed by-law changes was made by Jay Gore and seconded by Norm Laurendeau. The by-law amendments were passed by a voice vote.

- **9. Minute of Silence:** A minute of silence was observed to honor the passing of Section member Gerard Faeth of the University of Michigan.
- 10. Votes of Thanks: Bob Lucht proposed that Dennis Stocker be thanked for his service to the Section, and Dennis Stocker requested a round of applause for the service of Jay Gore, outgoing Past Chairperson. Stocker also expressed the Section's gratitude to Dike Ezekoye for a successful CSSCI meeting in Austin, and he thanked Ken Brezinsky and the University of Illinois at Chicago for successfully hosting the 2004 International Symposium.
- 11. Announcement of Future Meetings: Dennis Stocker announced that the 2006 CSSCI Spring Technical Meeting would be held in Cleveland in May. He also announced that the Western States Section was considering holding the 2007 U.S. Combustion Meeting in either San Diego or in Salt Lake City.
- **12. Adjournment:** Dennis Stocker called the business meeting to a close. The meeting ended at approximately 6:30 p.m.