Minutes of the 22 May 2006 Meeting of the Central States Section – The Combustion Institute

1. Welcome

The meeting was held on 22 May 2006 at the Marriott Downtown hotel in Cleveland and directed by L-D Chen. The business meeting started at about 12:45 PM and was completed at about 1:05 PM.

2. Treasurer's Report

L-D Chen gave an overview of the treasurer's report that has been detailed in the minutes of the board meeting.

3. Student Travel Awards for the 31st International Symposium

The winners of the James E. Peters Student Fellowship and Central States Section Student Fellowship were announced by Robert Hancock.

The winner of the James E. Peters Student Fellowship is Michelle L. Somers. Her co-authors are Jennifer W. McClaine and advisor M. Julia Wornat from LSU. The paper is titled "The Formations of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons from the Supercritical Pyrolysis of 1-Methylnaphalene". Michelle will receive \$1500 for this award. She was not present to collect the award.

Eight other students from the section who will be presenting accepted papers at the symposium will receive \$750 each.

Tom Briggs will notify all travel award winners.

Recipient	Institution	Advisor	Paper title	
James E. Peters Student Fellowship				
Michelle Somers	Louisiana State University	M. J. Wornat	The formation of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons from the supercritical pyrolysis of 1-methylnaphthalene	
Central States Section Student Travel Fellowship				
Smitesh Bakrania	University of Michigan	M. S. Wooldridge	Methane-assisted combustion synthesis of nanocomposite tin dioxide materials	
Claudia Fajardo	University of Michigan	V. Sick	Flow field assessment in a fired spray- guided spark-ignition direct-injection engine based on UV particle image velocimetry with sub crank angle resolution.	
Shenteng Hu	Vanderbilt University	R. W. Pitz	Numerical investigation of the curvature effects on diffusion flames	
Laura Kranendonk	University of Wisconsin - Madison	S. T. Sanders	Wavelength-agile H ₂ O absorption spectrometer for thermometry of general combustion gases	
K. Lakshminarasimhana	University of Texas at Austin	O. A. Ezekoye	Mixing characteristics in strongly forced nonpremixed methane jet flames	
Won Chan Park	University of Michigan	A. Atreya	Numerical study of thermal decomposition and pressure generation in charring solids undergoing opposed-	

			flow flame spread
Li Qiao	University of Michigan	W. J. A. Dahm	Near-limit laminar burning velocities of microgravity premixed hydrogen flames with chemically-passive fire suppressants
Stephen Walton	University of Michigan	M. S. Wooldridge	An experimental investigation of the ignition properties of hydrogen and carbon monoxide mixtures for syngas turbine applications

4. Art Contest Announcements

Nick Glumac announced the winners of the section's 2006 art contest.

1st Place: Microflame Sunflower by Mellish, Miller, Dietrich, Struk, and T'ien

2nd Place: Cylindrical Schlieren by Stroud, Branch, and Hertzberg

3rd Place: Radiation Demon by Feier

5. Board Member Elections

The elections were handled by L-D Chen.

L-D Chen expressed appreciation to Nader Rizk and Bob Lucht for their service on the board and acknowledged their departure from the board. The following slate of candidates was presented and unanimously approved by the members of the section to serve on the Board of Advisors.

Hukam Mongia (Second term)

James P. Seaba (First term)

John Abraham (First term)