CENTRAL STATES SECTION

The Combustion Institute

Section Business Meeting

Monday, April 21, 2008, 12:40 PM – 1:00 PM

Location: Bryant Conference Center

Tuscaloosa, AL

Called to order by Clark Midkiff at 12:40 PM

CSS Support of Student Travel to International Combustion Symposium

The Central States Section will provide one James E. Peters Fellowship for \$1000. It will also provide an additional \$9000 for awards up to \$500 each for additional student presenters. If more than 18 student presenters from the session request travel awards then the amount for each award will be reduced so as not to exceed \$9000. Students can visit the cssci.org to get an application for these travel awards.

Treasurer's Report

Clark Midkiff presented this report. He indicated that the section has a little over \$60,000 in funds and is quite solvent.

Elections

Clark Midkiff indicated that seven board members were completing their terms of office at this meeting and that five of those seven were completing their first term and willing to continue for a second term. The end of the term for those elected starts immediately and goes through the spring meeting of 2014. Two of the seven would not be continuing on the board. They are Dave Reuss who completed his second term and Wayne Eckerle who completed his first term. The following individuals were presented to the section for election to the board of advisors and Clark Midkiff asked if there were any additional nominations from the floor. No nominations were made from the floor.

Nominations:

Ofadike A. Ezekoye (2nd term) Charles E. A. Finney (2nd term) Margaret Wooldridge (2nd term) Nick G. Glumac (2nd term) Steve Wooldridge (2nd term) Sandra Olson (1st term) Satbir Singh (1st term) All seven individuals were approved unanimously by the membership of the Central States Section of the Combustion Institute. Clark Midkiff expressed appreciation to David Reuss and Wayne Eckerle for having served on the board.

Art Competition

There were six entries in the Art Competition. Awards were given to the following three entries:

First Place: Halo Burner by John Zink

Second Place: Outdoor Candle by Susuma Matsuyama

Third Place: Centerbody Flame by Scott Stouffer, Garth Justinger, Mel

Roquemore, Amy Lynch, Vince Belovich, Joe Zelina, Jim Gord, Keith Grinstead,

Vish Katta, and Kyle Frische

Future Meetings

Clark Midkiff reminded the membership of the International Combustion Symposium in Montreal in August 2008 and of the U.S. National Combustion Meeting in Ann Arbor, Michigan in May 2009.