### **Annual Business Meeting**

May 16, 2022 – Detroit, Michigan (at the CSSCI Spring Technical Meeting)

Led by Waruna Kulatilaka

Chair: Rob Tranter Chair-elect: Waruna Kulatilaka Treasurer: Tonghun Lee Secretary: Ramanan Sankaran Past Chair: Tim Jacobs

Notes taken by: Tim Jacobs

Called to order at 2:39pm by Chair-Elect Waruna Kulatilaka. Chair Rob Tranter not able to attend.

Introductions by Kulatilaka

#### Secretary's Report:

Last business meeting May 26, 2021. Board of Advisors met twice, November 6, 2021, and May 15, 2022.

Code of Conduct presented by Kathy Tacina. Formally adopted, posted on CSS/CI website on January 8, 2022.

Board approved budgets for the art competition and undergraduate research competition, being held at this technical meeting.

Meeting minutes from 2021 Business Meeting (May 26, 2021); posted on the website. Motion to approve: Eric Petersen. Kathy Tacina seconded. Motion carries.

#### **Treasurer's Report**

Starting balance = 46,398 Expenses = −13,782 Spring meeting (partial) = −13,182 Art competition = −600 Current balance = \$35,646 \*Not all expenses accounted for from Spring Technical Meeting.

Motion to approve: Kathy Tacina. Seconded: Margaret Wooldridge. Motion carries.

### **Board of Advisors**

Board of Advisors govern all business and activities of the section. Led by the Chair-Elect and advises the Executive Committee and corporate officers. Six-year terms (eligible for two terms). Even numbered year elections (staggered approximately 1/3 per election). Two Board of Advisors meetings annually. Acknowledgement of outgoing Board members: Dr. Suresh Aggarwal – UIC (12 years, two terms of service). Thank you for your service.

Current Advisors re-election to a second term: Prof. Will Northrop, University of Minnesota, Motion to approve: Chuck Baukal, Second Motion: Ajay Agarwal. Motion carries.

Election of new advisors: 1) Prof. Monique McClain (Purdue University, academia), 2. Dr. Mike Bunce (Mahle Powertrain, industry), 3) Prof. Omid Samini-Abianeh (Wayne State, academia), 4. Prof David Rothamer (UW-Madison, academia), 5. Prof. Babak Shortorban (University of Alabama Huntsville, academia), 6, Dr. Tim Ombrello (Air Force Research Laboratory, government). Motion to approve: Margaret Wooldridge, Eric Petersen Seconded. No nominations from the floor.

## **Other Announcements**

- Spring technical meeting papers have been shared with all conference attendees (see your email).
- Art competition voting ends today at 4:20, winners will be announced at the banquet.
- 39<sup>th</sup> International Symposium on Combustion, July 24 29, 2022, Vancouver, Canada.
- CSS offers some travel awards to student paper presenters. Look out for an email soon with details.

# **Future Meetings**

13<sup>th</sup> US National Combustion Meeting – March 2023

Texas A&M university, College Station, Texas Hosted by the Central States Section of the Cl.